The Colorado Funeral Service Board requires six (6) contact hours per year for individuals who maintain certification as a CMSP, CFD, CET and INT.
For live events, the event sponsor will be required to provide evidence of participation by both of the following methods:
Credits earned after October 1, 2016 may be applied toward 2018 renewal if those credits were not applied to your last renewal. Documentation such as a certificate of attendance, letter from a public service organization, statement or transcript from academic institution, etc., must be provided as evidence for the corresponding credit.
CE evidence should only be returned with your annual certification renewal; do not send CE documentation to CFSB without your accompanying renewal notice.
Active Status: Evidence for a minimum of six (6) contact hours of continuing education credit must be provided to maintain Active Status as CMSP, CFD, CET and INT certification. A minimum of four (4) contact hours from those activities must come from Category A or Category B activities and at least two (2.0) of those contact hours are required from CFDA-approved Colorado Laws credit. The CE Activity Report and documentation must be included with your annual renewal to support Active Status. A maximum of 2.0 hours per calendar year will be accepted from Category C, Public Education/Service.
If no CE evidence or insufficient documentation of continuing education is provided with annual renewal, certification may be renewed at Inactive Status.
Inactive Status: Inactive Status individuals are not required to provide evidence of continuing education credit to maintain certification. Return to Active status will require evidence of six (6) contact hours per year of Inactive certification, up to maximum of twelve (12) contact hours (minimum of 8 hours from Category A or B).
Retired Status*: Certified funeral service professionals over the age of 65 are eligible for Retired Status and will be required to provide evidence of three (3) contact hours of continuing education earned each year. The Colorado Laws credit requirement is not necessary for Retired status renewal.
Emeritus Status*: Certified funeral service professionals over the age of 70 are eligible for Emeritus Status and will not be required to prove continuing education credit. The Colorado Laws credit requirement is not necessary for Emeritus status renewal.
*If you are age 65+, please include a note and your birthdate on your renewal notice so we can adjust your certification for Retired or Emeritus status.
Honor Roll: To qualify, you must earn at least 15 contact hours of CE credit from Category A and Category B activities during the last calendar year. At least two (2.0) contact hours are required from CFDA-approved Colorado Laws credit.